Plop, Plop, Fizz, Fizz…NOOOO!

fellowshipoftheminds.com

fellowshipoftheminds. com

Admit it.

Don’t be full of crap.

You or someone close to you has in fact dropped a cell phone in the toilette.

images-141

In fact, studies show that almost 40% us take our phones with us while on the throne.  Of those 40%, half end up dropping them in right in the toidy.

www.plumbworld.co.uk

plumbworld.co.uk

That’s a lot of $$$$ down the drain!

www.plumbworld.co.uk

Adios $$$.  ontwoshores.com

{Insert big SIGH here}

It was only a month old.  

I am not usually a follower type of person, but I wanted in on the iPhone craze.  I had a smart phone but it was really just a wanna-be smart phone.  A savvy one, but truly not the real thing.  And I am definitely a real thing, type of girl.

Getting the phone was a fiasco in and on itself.  I had gone to Verizon originally,  but the sales rep was so rude that I walked out of the store and headed straight to Best Buy.  I decided to show Verizon WHO was boss and ended up buying it from the techie nerds at Best Buy.  Not a good move.  The phone was cursed from day one.  I had several issues with the SIM card and retrieving my contacts.  I quickly regretted cheating on Verizon who I had been loyal to for 100 years prior.

It was during a regular ‘ol miserable winter day (2 weeks ago), that things went poopie. I went to use the facilities in the comfort of my own home

luxurylaunches.com

Brickhouse’s Throne. luxurylaunches.com

forgetting that my new toy was in the back pocket of my favorite jeans (I hate those jeans now.) When suddenly I hear:

PLOP

Then

FIZZ

Then, my own voice yelling, 

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Though I too do not have a thigh gap, unfortunately, it did not save my phone from falling in the toilet.  Bummer.

boldomatic.com

boldomatic.com

After doing the rice thing and the blow dryer thing and the praying thing, the phone would not charge.  I could do everything else except for charge it.  

Caca!

Having no other alternative, I had to file a claim with Asurion – for $10/month (a phone insurance that mimics most ridiculous insurance policies with an insane deductible.) 

My ‘new’ (refurbished) iPhone should arrive tomorrow via Fed Ex any time  between 6:00 am and 8:00 pm.  

Guess what else will arrive tomorrow?

highconsumption.com

highconsumption.com

A WATERPROOF case!

(not the guy under water, though he looks like a nice guy.)

Enhanced by Zemanta

56 thoughts on “Plop, Plop, Fizz, Fizz…NOOOO!

  1. My BFF dropped hers in the toilet while we were away at fat camp…oops, I mean, “Fitness Retreat”. I heard her scream from the adjoining room and start cursing in half English, half Russian. 🙂 The most difficult part, frankly, was convincing the cooks in the kitchen to give her a couple of cups of rice, as we were on a restricted diet. Seriously? Like she was going to eat raw rice?? Her phone resurrected several hours later.

    p.s. We have many common friends, so I figured it was high time I checked out the chica myself. Great writing!

    Like

    1. Hi Nancy! You had me cracking up with the rice thing and the fat camp. So glad you stopped by. I just stalked you a bit at your place and learned about your fitness mission. Awesome!

      Wait, does this mean I’m going to be insanely jealous of your fitness and shape? Can you at least tell me that you eat sweets and drink alcohol? 🙂 Looking forward to learning more about you! Gracias. 🙂

      Like

      1. Girl, I eat sweets by the truckload. And don’t even get me started on booze. (Type wine in the search box and see how many posts come up!)
        I just try to negate all all that indulgence by moving my ass. 🙂
        Looking forward to getting to know you!

        Like

  2. I’m shocked this hasn’t happened to me before. I’m always dropping things. I was late to the smartphone craze and still haven’t gotten the hang of it yet so I rarely use it or remember to carry it with me anywhere.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a good thing that you are late to the smartphone craze. I am loving my new ugly, industrial-looking, Lifeproof waterproof case! I almost want to drop it back in the toilet to see if the case really works. Or, jump into the ocean with it. If I could be near an ocean right now. That would be nice. Sigh.

      Like

  3. Noooooo…I have never dropped my phone in the toilette. Mainly because I consider phoning to be an activity best done NOT in the bathroom, but in it’s proper place. A phone-booth. When I change into my Superwoman duds.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Que Peña! My husband has a workmate who drops his in all the time or just drops it wherever and it smashes. Even if it’s a work phone if you keep doing it you have to pay. I didn’t know you could get waterproof cases, cool. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Shi&&y story. Get it? Next time you take your phone swimming, check out the small print on your Visa. John went swimming with our camera while fishing – Visa will replace if you have purchased something inside of 6 months. Then, he washed the next one. Visa to the rescue. All’s well that ends well.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m in that lucky percentage! My iPhone 5 was 2 weeks old when it fell into a toilet at a bar. I didn’t realize and was like “where’s my phone? where’s my— shit.” Thankfully, it did resurrect after a week in a box of rice. I literally carried the box of rice around with me everywhere I went, just because I felt like I ought to have my phone with me at all times. Even while it was shut off 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t leave it in the rice long enough and did not shut it off. Verizon said they could see that the charging port had eroded. Caca. I’m enjoying my new phone which is wrapped in concrete with a glass casing around it. 🙂

      Like

  7. Oh, Maria!!! I feel your pain. Glad you’re getting a waterproof case!

    That’s why I got the insurance on the phone. Having spilled a cola in my computer, I automatically need to get replacement insurance on any electronic gadget I buy, since I’m hard on gadgets.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ouch. Cola in your computer. That could easily happen to mine. I have learned my lesson, although the phone was just minding its own business in my back pocket when it fell in. I wasn’t even using it. But, my new one is banned from going anywhere near my Throne!

      Like

  8. You know what…I bet this is more common than we would think! Although it sounds random, it has that all too obvious accident sound to it! Man, I think I’d cry if it happened to me! I yell at my teenage son for leaving his in unsafe places. On the ledge of his dresser half on half off, on the front porch swing, dog’s bed, etc. We’ve yet to have the big phone toilet dive as of yet. (Knock on wood) I think your on the right path, water proof case, insurance. But I was also thinking that would be a great business to launch these days. If someone could only figure out how to save it once it takes the big plunge! lmao. Great post sharing now 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad to hear that your teenage son’s phone has not experienced the toilet plunge! It’s not fun. Many people do the putting it rice thing and have luck getting the moisture out. I did all that but still had erosion in the charging port. Oh well. I am happy with my new Lifeproof waterproof case. It gives me piece of mind. 🙂

      Like

  9. Thankfully it was YOUR throne.
    If it happened in like….a gas station bathroom (the thought makes me dry heave) I would have flushed immediately. BUH-BYE.
    Thanks for this PSA – I will be more cautious from now on!
    Hope you are back in range by now!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Never dunked a phone in the toilet, but did accidentally take one in the pool.

    But, see, I am poor, so I did not have a phone by way of contract– I had one by way of pay-as-you-go. As in cheap Motorola with TracFone, like $20 for the phone, tops. These days? Gov’t subsidized (so only 250 minutes/month, no rollover), with Virgin Mobile. I did swap out the crappy cheap Kyocera for a decent Samsung by way of their pay-as-you-go offerings.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I have not dropped my phone in the crapper yet but after reading this I might stop bringing it in! People get pissed when they hear flushing sounds anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Why thank you, lovely lady! Very sweet of you! Congrats on those two nominations. Woot, woot! I hope you don’t take offense that I won’t do the question thing. What I am looking forward to, however, is following you and reading your hilarious posts. 🙂

      Like

  12. Wow! I had no idea so many people were dropping their phones into the toilet. I’ve never done that, but then again, I’m a slow learner…that’s why I came to you, my most wonderful Spanish professora ever!
    I’m sorry your phone went down the throne, but what a beautiful throne it is…only the best for Queen Brickhouse!
    Thanks again for the magnifico package! xo

    Like

  13. Gah! A new horror of the modern age.
    Way back when, I probably tanked a dozen pagers like that. fortunately, they were only about $10 to replace.
    (They should throw in pool boy, just to make up for all the stress.) 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Let it all hang out...